Courts of Nova Scotia graphic and NS Crest


Members of the Judiciary

Judicial authority for the Provincial Court is vested in the Judges of the Court. Administration, judicial support, and quasi-judicial functions are provided by Chief Clerks and their staff. Question 6 Question 7 Judges of the Court are appointed by the Nova Scotia Government.

At present, the Provincial Court consists of 34 Judges, including the Chief Judge and the Associate Chief Judge, as well as several part-time Judges. All have jurisdiction throughout the province.

The Chief Judge of the Provincial Court is also Chief Judge of the Family Court. And, recently, new Judges have been appointed to both the Provincial and Family Courts; meaning they are assigned to one or the other but can sit in either.

In the list below, the Court in which the Judge sits most of the time is show first (Provincia/Family or Family/Provincal).

Provincial Court Judges may be contacted through the courthouse in the "Location" column below. Contact information for the Province's courthouses can be found by clicking here: << Court Locations/Maps >>

Chief Judge of the Provincial & Family Courts: Pamela S. Williams Provincial/Family Dartmouth
Associate Chief Judge of the Provincial Court: Alan T. Tufts Provincial Kentville
Associate Chief Judge of the Family Court: James C. Wilson Family/Provincial Pictou
Judge Del W. Atwood Provincial/Family Pictou
Judge Barbara Beach Provincial Halifax
Judge Flora I. Buchan Provincial/Family Dartmouth
Judge James H. Burrill Provincial/Family Bridgewater
Judge Jamie S. Campbell Provincial/Family Halifax
Judge Marc C. Chisholm Provincial/Family Halifax
Judge Michelle K. Christenson Family/Provincial Yarmouth
Judge Patrick H. Curran Provincial/Family Halifax
Judge Anne S. Derrick Provincial/Family Halifax
Judge Jean M. Dewolfe Family/Provincial Truro
Judge William Digby Provincial/Family Halifax
Judge D. Timothy Gabriel Provincial/Family Dartmouth
Judge R. Brian Gibson (part-time) Provincial/Family Dartmouth
Judge Laurel J. Halfpenny-MacQuarrie Provincial/Family Port Hawkesbury
Judge Frank P. Hoskins Provincial/Family Dartmouth
Judge Timothy D. Landry Provincial/Family Digby/Yarmouth
Judge Gregory E. Lenehan Provincial/Family Bridgewater
Judge Claudine MacDonald Provincial Kentville
Judge William MacDonald (part-time) Provincial Dartmouth

Judge John G. MacDougall (part-time)

Provincial/Family Truro
Judge Richard J. MacKinnon Provincial/Family Antigonish
Judge Marci Lin Melvin Family/Provincial Kentville
Judge S. Raymond Morse Family/Provincial Amherst/Truro
Judge Alanna Murphy Provincial Dartmouth
Judge Robert M. Prince Provincial Yarmouth
Judge A. Peter Ross Provincial Sydney
Judge David J. Ryan Provincial Sydney
Judge Paul B. Scovil Provincial/Family Amherst
Judge Michael B. Sherar Provincial Halifax
Judge Theodore K. Tax Provincial/Family Dartmouth
Judge Jean M. Whalen Provincial/Family Sydney
Judge Brian D. Williston Provincial Sydney
Judge Warren Zimmer Provincial/Family Truro